The Guide To Different “Types of Iguanas”

Iguanas, with their distinctive crested spine, dewlap, and stout build, are amongst the most popular pet reptiles. Their diversity spans across multiple species and subspecies, each exhibiting unique traits and adaptations to their respective environments.

This article aims to enrich your understanding of the different types of iguanas, shedding light on their habits, habitats, and distinctive characteristics.

Types of Iguanas

The Wonders of Iguana Diversity

There are roughly 35 species of iguanas identified under two subfamilies – Iguaninae and Crotaphytinae.

Read Also:

  1. Poodle Mixes
  2. Boston Terrier Best Dog Food
  3. How Much is a Tarantula

These reptiles inhabit a range of habitats from rainforests to deserts across North and South America, the Galápagos Islands, Fiji, and Madagascar. Here, we delve into some of the most recognized and intriguing iguana species.

Green Iguana (Iguana iguana)

The Green Iguana is the most common type, often kept as a pet due to its calm nature and vibrant color. As they age, their color can range from bright green to a duller gray-green. Native to Central and South America, these large lizards can reach lengths of up to seven feet.

Blue Iguana (Cyclura lewisi)

The Blue Iguana, native to the Grand Cayman Island, is a critically endangered species due to habitat destruction and predation. They’re known for their unique bluish color, which intensifies when the lizard is basking in the sun.

Marine Iguana (Amblyrhynchus cristatus)

Marine Iguanas are the only sea-going lizards in the world, found exclusively on the Gal├ípagos Islands. They’ve adapted to feed on underwater algae and seaweed. Their color varies from black to gray to a reddish-brown depending on the island they inhabit.

Rhinoceros Iguana (Cyclura cornuta)

Named for the horn-like outgrowths on their snouts, Rhinoceros Iguanas are native to the Caribbean. These iguanas are primarily herbivorous, though they occasionally consume small animals and insects.

Desert Iguana (Dipsosaurus dorsalis)

Desert Iguanas are native to the southwestern United States and northwestern Mexico. They’ve adapted to harsh desert environments and are one of the most heat-tolerant lizard species. Their diet mainly consists of flowers, leaves, and fruits.

Spiny-tailed Iguana (Genus Ctenosaura)

Spiny-tailed Iguanas are named for their distinctive spiny tails. Native to Mexico and Central America, these iguanas come in a range of sizes and colors, with the Black Spiny-tailed Iguana being the most famous.

Fiji Banded Iguana (Brachylophus fasciatus)

Found only in Fiji and Tonga, the Fiji Banded Iguana is a stunning species, recognized by the vivid blue-green and white or yellow bands across its body.

Behavioral Traits

Iguanas are known for their unique behavioral traits. The bobbing or nodding of the head is a common form of communication amongst these reptiles. They display this behavior to establish dominance, express submission, or signal a willingness to mate.

Iguanas also have a fascinating ability to detach their tails when caught by a predator. Known as autotomy, this defense mechanism allows them to escape while the predator is distracted by the still wriggling tail. However, it’s worth noting that not all species can regenerate their tails.

Diet and Lifespan

Iguanas are primarily herbivores, feasting on a diet of fruits, flowers, leaves, and shoots. Some species, like the Marine Iguana and Rhinoceros Iguana, may also consume small amounts of insects or animal matter.

The lifespan of iguanas varies greatly by species and is significantly influenced by their environment. While many iguanas in the wild live for about 10-15 years, in captivity, they can live up to 20 years with proper care.

Conservation Status

Many iguana species face the threat of extinction due to habitat loss, hunting, and invasive species.

The Blue Iguana and Brachylophus species in Fiji are classified as critically endangered. Conservation programs are essential to protect these unique creatures and their habitats.

Pet Ownership

For those considering an iguana as a pet, it’s important to note that these reptiles require a high level of care. They need a large living space, specific lighting for heat and UVB, a balanced diet, and regular vet check-ups.

Iguanas can also grow quite large, with some species reaching up to seven feet in length. Thus, potential owners should be prepared for a long-term commitment to their care.

Read Also:

  1. White Cows
  2. Caracal Pet
  3. How Much Does an Average Cow Weight?


The world of iguanas is rich with variety and unique adaptations. Whether you’re a potential pet owner, a passionate herpetologist, or someone intrigued by reptiles, understanding the different types of iguanas can be a captivating journey into the realm of biodiversity.

Remember, while some iguanas are kept as pets, many are endangered due to habitat destruction and illegal pet trade. Conservation of these extraordinary species is essential for preserving the richness and balance of our ecosystem.